I get by…

So, last night I finally got the kids to bed, got all my things in order to start work on my baby shower favors, I sat down and…

the power went out.

Till 4:00 in the morning.

Needless to say, if I wasn’t feeling the heat yesterday, I was really feeling it today. I had to be at the hockey rink at 6:30 this morning, work meetings all day, get my girl at preschool, pick up some more supplies, dinner, then get started…again.

After rushing to get my oldest on the bus after hockey practice, a neighbor asked if I wanted to go out for Girls Night on Thursday. I explained how busy I was and she offered “How about we all come over and help?” I declined. But, was touched.

Later today, I could feel the tension in my shoulders as I was sitting at my computer trying to get the favor tags done. I looked down at my phone which was blinking there was a message. I listened. I smiled. It was a different neighbor offering her crafting assistance. Again, I declined. After all, I still have my nose above the water. For now.

After dinner was cleaned up, my kids sat at their computers and played quietly allowing me to get the tags done and the diapers wrapped for the cake. It was actually relaxing. I thought about how much I miss the smell of clean, newborn diapers, how blessed I am in so many ways. And all the stress just disappeared. Well, almost disappeared. It’s all good.

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I get by…

  1. Kristen Smith says:

    I noticed the time marker says 3:38 am? Really? Good gravy. I can relate to busy, to going and going and thinking, “If I stop to think about all this I will have a panic attack.” Keep your head down and just run the race.
    But…in the midst of it all, I too am grateful. I think that is the difference between miserable people and people of contentment.

    No, I wasn’t one to help, but at least we laughed on the phone.

    Love you!

  2. cluttercafe says:

    no, not really. I can’t figureout how to change the time stamp. heehee

Say what?

