Lost Spots and Missed Callings

This weekend I went to my five year old niece Hannah’s, very first dance recital.

Act One Scene Three: The Circus…

Leopards who’ve lost their spots. A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E!

As she twirled and skipped on stage in her leopard print and purple tuttu, peering through her hands like a pair of binoculars, it was apparent she had lost not only her spots, but her family as well. My daughter stood on her chair waiving, but apparently Hannah couldn’t see her through the crowd and the bright stage lighting.

So she did what anyone would do. She recruited some help.

Hannah (to the leopard next to her)…”Hey, do you see my Mom?”
Leopard…”Um, no. Oh! Hold on let me get out my binoculars too. Um…Nope. Oooh but I see my Mom. “HI MOM!”
Hannah…”Keep looking!”
Leopard…”I think we’re supposed to be dancing.”
Hannah…”Whatevs. I can dance and look at the same time. See? No prob. Wait! What? I’m supposed to be over there? Whatevs. I’m cute. I bet no one even noticed”.

Sorry girlfriend. Everyone did notice. And it was, by far, the highlight of the day. Great job Hannah!

I think it was the first recital I had been to since my own, when I was a little girl. It made me kind of nostalgic. Me and my bestie Kristen. Polished ballerinas. Well, Kristen was anyway. She took dance class very seriously. I, on the other hand, was always two or three steps behind, and didn’t much care. Apparently I didn’t grow out of it either. I can single-handedly screw up an entire aerobic class. That’s why I don’t take them (ahem..no really, that’s why). Don’t judge me.

After the recital, I decided to clean out my closet and I found this…

Lisa & Kristen 1978

That’s me on the left. Not too shabby. Love the Dorothy Hamel haircut I was rockin. I think I missed my calling.

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lost Spots and Missed Callings

  1. Kristen Smith says:

    Oh Li! I LOVE YOU!!! I DID take it so seriously! LOL How did you ever find this photo!?!? Wow, it takes me back too. I know, I was always “correcting” you, and you were like “leave me the hell alone”. hahaha Good times my friend, good times.
    I still love ballet. I just don’t Do it. Remember how we moved on to dancing to Def Leppard in my living room, singing to Grease in your bedroom (I was always John Travolta) Go figure??? Playing Nancy Drew. Pretending to be shot and waiting 2 hours for your brother to “rescue” me. I am smiling like a fool right now.
    “I can single-handedly screw up an entire aerobic class. That’s why I don’t take them (ahem..no really, that’s why). Don’t judge me.” BAHAHAHAHAHA! Love you 🙂

  2. Sue says:

    OMG! Love it! 🙂

  3. cluttercafe says:

    Thanks guys. So many memories. Wait Sue, I’m sure I have some of us too!

Say what?

