The Dive

The Dive

Do you remember this? I don’t. May 10, 1970. One year and three days before I was born. Please don’t do the math.

This is one of the most famous images in hockey history. To all you Bruins fans, it needs no explanation. But, for those of you who have jumped on the bandwagon, here’s the story in Orr’s own words.

“If it had gone by me, it’s a two-on-one. So I got a little lucky there. But Derek gave me a great pass, and when I got the pass I was moving across the ice. As I skated across, Glenn had to move across the crease and had to open his pads a little. I was really trying to get the puck on net, and I did. As I went across, Glenns legs opened. I looked back and saw it go in, so I jumped.

The photo, taken as Orr raised his hands in victory when he saw the shot go in and was tripped by Noel Picard. It was the winning goal that gave the Bruins their first Stanley Cup victory in 41 years.

It was magical. It happens once in a lifetime.

Well, hopefully twice.

Go Bruins! Bring it home!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Dive

  1. amratzlaff42 says:

    Haha! That is a fantastic photo, it sure made me smile 🙂

    http://gloryorganics.wordpress.com/

    • cluttercafe says:

      You must be a Bruins fan! Glad it made you smile. You made me smile too, you are the first comment from someone other than my mother or my BFF! You made my day! Please keep coming back and share with your friends

  2. amratzlaff42 says:

    I saw your comment on The Pioneer Woman so I thought I’d check it out. I added you to my bookmarks 🙂 So glad I could make your day!

  3. Tricia says:

    that was 10 days before I was born, but my dad told me the play by play so many times that I could see it in my head by the time I was 10! Dominik has requested the Fat Head of “the goal” (it really needs no further explanation in Bean Town, does it). Just like the number 4 isn’t just a number here, it’s a representation of a Legend. (btw, Dominik almost beat some kid up at the start of last season to get that number, he made me so proud ;-P )

Say what?

