It’s the most (fill in the blank) time of the year

Eleven days until Christmas. How is that even possible? I think someone is playing a cruel joke on me by tearing off the days of my calendar two at a time.

That has to be it, right?

No?

Go away.

Sorry. I didn’t mean that.

So, here’s the thing. Last week I said to myself “Girl, get it together!” So I made a list.

Then I lost said list.

That is how I roll.

Each day when I come home I list in my head, mistake #1, all the things I want to do before bed. I always have such good intentions. For a brief, and I mean REAL brief moment, I feel like Wonderwoman. I can do it all! I’ve got this! No sweat!

Then, inevitably comes the monkey wrench. Any of you have a monkey wrench? I’m sure you do. We all do. My monkey wrench typically comes in the form of two children who need help with homework, need a bath, need to eat, need help getting their pant leg out of the dog’s mouth. You get the point.

And as quick as my super hero strength comes, like kryptonite to Superman…gone.

Defeat.

Again.

This is a typical day for me, but it is sooooooooooo much worse around the holidays. Any of you feel so overwhelmed by everything to do during the holidays that you don’t have time to actually enjoy them? That’s what boat I’m in. I think it’s called the Titanic.

So once again, tonight after the monkeys are in bed, I’m going to multitask and sit down by the glow of my Christmas tree with a cup of hot cranberry tea…

And my list.

By the way. I’m curious, how do you get organized for the holidays? I’d love to hear some of your secrets.

Love,
Chaotic at Christmas

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in scattered thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s the most (fill in the blank) time of the year

  1. Ellen says:

    Ask for help. I’m here if you need me after work. I can take the kids. Or call Cyanna.

  2. kristen smith says:

    Well, so far I’ve ignored all Christmas stress due to lack of money. Oh well! lol But I suppose it would be about prioritizing.
    Btw-love the snow falling on here. Wicked cute.
    When are we making jam?

  3. tricia says:

    personally I think the term ‘organized christmas’ is an oxymoron. swap out the cranberry tea for a couple of bourbons and you won’t give a rat’s a$$. at least that’s the plan around these parts this year. LOL!

  4. cluttercafe says:

    I love you Tricia! And just to let you all know, I did swap out the cranberry tea and then passed out and didn’t get my list done!

Say what?

