Dandelion Feta Campanelle

Dandelion Feta Campanelle

I was in the produce aisle the other day and I’ve got to say, everything looked good. That’s pretty unusual for this time of year. Typically, produce is either unripe and hard or wilted and yucky.

Well, I fell for it. You know, the misted vegetable trick.

There I stood, with my wooden vegetable basket, wide brimmed hat and muck boots breathing in the fresh, crisp morning air, the smell of the earth…

“Good Afternoon shoppers!”…

Reality check.

Don’t tell me you all don’t “escape” sometimes. Like staring at a photo of a tropical island screensaver…wishing you were there. We have screensavers like that for a reason, you know. So we don’t sit at our work desk and weep all day. That’s right. It’s ok. Whatever gets you through.

Well, after I snapped out of it and wiped the tears away after remembering I was doing errands instead of spending time in the garden, I noticed a gorgeous, crisp bunch of fresh dandelion greens. I am not really a huge fan of bitter greens. I’d rather eat an old shoe than mustard greens or broccoli rabe. But for some reason, I had to have these dandelions.

I had no idea what to do with them. But I knew I wanted something quick and fairly healthy. Dandelion greens are one of the healthiest greens you can eat. Did you know that?

They are Loaded with vitamin K, vitamin A, potassium, calcium, and fiber. They are also said to be nature’s most abundant green vegetable source of beta-carotene and contain zeaxanthin and lutein, which are good for your eyes

So here’s what I came up with. The greens were not terribly bitter, and the shape of the campanelle caught all the bits of greens and small chunks of feta in every bite.

You’ve got to try this. Like today.

So, go grab your sun hat and boots and find yourself a bunch of dandelions and get cooking. Quick, easy, delicious and good for you. Enjoy!

Dandelion Feta Campanelle

1 lb. campanelle or any favorite pasta
2 T. olive oil
2 T. butter
1 bunch dandelion greens, cleaned and chopped
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
1.4 t. red pepper flakes (add more if you like a bit more heat)
8 oz. crumbled feta (I use reduced fat)
Salt and pepper to taste

Cook pasta and drain, reserving 1/4 cup of water.
In a saucepan, heat oil and butter on medium and saute garlic and red pepper flakes and toss in greens. Don’t burn the garlic! There’s no saving burnt garlic.
Add the feta and slowly add the reserved pasta water, stirring to melt the feta creating a sauce. Don’t try to get all the feta to melt. It will have some chunks.
Toss it all together. Add salt and pepper to taste and enjoy!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

