Irish Coffee Bars

Irish Coffee Blondies

Here are ten things about me, St. Patrick’s Day and anything Irish in general:

  1. I am not Irish
  2. I don’t like Guinnes
  3. I can’t understand Irish brogue.
  4. Leprechauns creep me out. As do oompa loompas.
  5. I still can’t watch Charlie and the Chocolate Factory without nightmares.
  6. I have learned that most food that is not naturally green probably shouldn’t be eaten
  7. I’ve been at the end of a rainbow, and there was no pot of gold
  8. McDonalds Shamrock Shakes are nasty
  9. As much as I love Dr. Seuss, I do not like green eggs and ham. I do not like them here or there, I do not like them anywhere.
  10. Face it, if you aren’t Irish, celebrating St. Patty’s Day is just a good excuse to drink during the week.
    Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

These were right up my alley.

  • They weren’t green
  • They were loaded with coffee
  • And butter
  • I didn’t even need a mixer
  • And they had drizzle made of whiskey, butter and sugar

After the first bite, I was unsure. After the second, there was no question. These were good. Real good. They were dense, chewy and buttery. Strong coffee flavor offset by the sweet whiskey glaze.

A hot cup of coffee and one of these rich treats and trust me, you’ll have found your pot of gold.

Irish Coffee Bar

2 sticks unsalted butter, plus more for pan
2 c. all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
2 c. packed light brown sugar
3 Tbls. freshly ground coffee
Salt
2 large eggs
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1/2 c. sliced almonds,skin on
For the Glaze
1 Tbls. melted butter, warm
3/4 c.confectioner’s sugar, sifted
2 Tbls Jameson Irish Whiskey

Preheat oven to 350.
Butter a 9×13 inch baking dish, line with parchment so it overhangs on all sides. Butter parchment.
Whisk together flour, baking powder, and baking soda.
Melt butter and pour into mixing bowl with brown sugar, ground coffee, and 1 tsp. salt. Stir to combine. Stir in eggs and vanilla extract. Stir in flour mixture until just combined. Pour batter into prepared pan and sprinkle with almonds. Bake 27-30 minutes (a shorter time will yield a chewier blondie). Let cool completely.
Make the glaze.
Whisk together the butter and whiskey.
Gradually add the confectioner’s sugar until the glaze is thick but pourable (you may not need all the sugar). Pour into a ziplock bag and snip off a tiny corner and drizzle in a rough crosshatch pattern. Let dry 1 hour. Cut into 2 inch squares. (Can be stored at room temperature up to 2 days).

Recipe from Martha Stewart (not posted until March 17th)

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Irish Coffee Bars

  1. Leah says:

    These look absolutely amazing! I can’t wait to spend some time in the kitchen making these 🙂

    • cluttercafe says:

      The are wicken good (sorry for the New England slang) but they are! Keep in mind they are kinda boozy. Made me feel all warm and mello. I may have made them more than once 🙂

Say what?

