Ciabatta Bread…a flop

Ok, so I am NOT a bread maker by any means. Yeast intimidates me. I have never had good luck with them. Ever! They never rise. They taste too “yeasty”. Is that even a word? Well, it should be.

Yeast breads are my nemesis!

I vowed this year I would spend more time mastering the art of bread making.

Well, yesterday, I had a tomato, mozzarella, basil sandwich (on ciabatta bread) from Starbucks. I absolutely love them. Have you had one? They are light and fresh and so flavorful. I especially love the rolls. They have a slightly crispy crust and are light and airy on the inside, due to the trademark “holes” that ciabatta is known for.

After getting the bill ($9.00 for a venti iced coffee and the sandwich) I decided to make my own. I could easily have picked up ciabatta rolls from the store, but they always seem stale and way too dense. So, I decided to make my own. Really, how hard could it be?

Well, take a look.

It was not pretty. It was a big, gloopy mess. This picture is after the rise. No, I’m not kidding you.

The recipe was from King Arthur Flour. If anyone knows breadmaking, it’s them.

This is the online tutorial I found afterward. It probably would have come in handy a couple of hours ago, don’t ya think? I also decided to call their hotline and ask for some guidance. Yes, they have a people there to answer your questions all the time. Gotta love great customer service!

Since I used the bread machine method and it didn’t turn out so good, I’m going to give the mixer method a shot. Maybe I’ll have better results. I mean really, it couldn’t get much worse. I probably shouldn’t have said that.

I’m a typical Taurus, which means I’ll keep trying until I get it right. So, after I finish scraping this pile of muck into the the trash and take a trip to the store for more flour, I’ll make another starter and try again tomorrow afternoon.

Wish me luck and stay tuned!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ciabatta Bread…a flop

  1. kristen smith says:

    Bahahaha. Nice. Really nice. Try again cuz us Taurians (real word?) will never give up or give in. Especially to yeast. Yeast? Really, come on!

Say what?

