Spicy Braised Chicken Thighs and Mushrooms

Spicy Braised Chicken Thighs with Mushrooms

I’m not quite sure why, but lately I cannot get enough of spicy foods. I was never really a fan of spicy foods. But lately, I’m throwing heat in everything. Cayenne, sri racha, red pepper flakes, jalapeno. Whatever! If it’s got some kick to it, it’s goin in!

This recipe is really all about the spice mix. I make a batch of it and keep it in the spice cabinet for whenever I need to come up with a quick meal.

I typically use boneless, skinless chicken thighs as my protein, but I bet this mix would make some awesome shrimp too. I have given up on breasts, not mine, those are fine. Boneless, skinless, flavorless chicken breasts.I find the thighs are so much more flavorful and cheaper to boot. I always keep some in the freezer.

Spice Mix
2 1/2 tablespoons paprika
2 tablespoons salt
2 tablespoons garlic powder
1 tablespoon black pepper
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1 tsp dried thyme

Spicy Braised Chicken Thighs and Mushrooms
2 Tbls olive oil
6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
1/2 tablespoon spice mix
2 Tbls butter
12 oz.button mushrooms, sliced
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1/3 c. white wine
1 can favorite chicken stock
Steamed white rice for serving
Chopped fresh parsley leaves for garnish (if desired)

Directions
1. Coat chicken in spice mix. Rub it right in!
2. Heat oil in large pan on medium/high heat
3. Cook chicken 3-4 minutes each side (resist the urge to move them around in the pan. Put them in and leave them to sear on each side). Remove and set aside.
4. Do not drain pan. Melt butter and add mushrooms to saute.
5. Make sure heat is really high and add wine, it will give off a good steam. Stir.
6. Add paste and incorporate. Cook until it is reduced to about half.
7. Add broth and reduce heat to medium/med-low.
8. Add chicken back in and simmer until mushrooms are done, about 4-5 minutes.

Serve over steamed white rice with some fresh chopped parsley and a piece of fresh bread.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Emeril Lagasse

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spicy Braised Chicken Thighs and Mushrooms

  1. Michelle says:

    This looks absolutely delicious! I probably won’t have much time to try new recipes over the next three weeks with my finals and such to study for, but when I get home this is definitely on my list to make!

  2. Lisa, I TOTALLY agree with you on boneless, skinless chicken breasts, no FLAVOR, yuck!! Love your blog!!

Say what?

