Chipotle Chicken Wrap

Chipotle Chicken Wrap

Last weekend my husband brought me home a sandwich.

It was so stinking good, I didn’t want it to be gone. So I ate half and saved the other half for later.

Then 5 minutes later, I cried like a baby.

It was grilled chicken, carmelized onions, roasted red peppers with a creamy chipotle mayonnaise heated in a crusty loaf. It was sweet and tangy and had nice kick to it and the bread was delicious with a nice crisp crust and airy crumb.

It was perfect. Albeit highly caloric, I’m sure.

Since I am always looking for something easy, healthy and tasty to take for lunch, and since I’m trying hard to eat better, I decided to give this a makeover. I gotta say, minus the big loaf of wonderfully delicious bread, it worked. It had a little more heat than the original, but I was ok with that.

On Sunday I blended up some chipotle peppers and light mayo. Grilled up some chicken and carmelized some onions so I could throw everything together the next morning.

I’ve eaten this everyday this week.

I may eat it every day next week too. It’s just that good.

If you’re looking for something different, easy, delicious and healthy. Try this. I think you’ll really enjoy it. And it’ll save you some money ordering takeout for lunch.

Here’s what’s in it. I’m not going to bore you with measurements for the sandwich. It all depends on what size/type of bread you use. But here’s the process. Try it on your favorite sandwich wrap (I used Flatout whole grain) or throw caution too the wind and put it all on a big crusty loaf. It’s all up to you.

Chipotle Mayonnaise
2 chipotle peppers (canned in adobo)
1 c. light mayonnaise (not Miracle Whip or dressing)
squeeze of fresh lime juice
dash of salt

Puree all ingredients in a blender or with an immersion blender.
Store in the fridge

Thin sliced boneless skinless chicken breast, lightly sprayed with olive oil and grilled (either on the barbecue or on the stove)

2 Large vidalia onions, sliced thin, sprayed with a little olive oil and cooked on low heat until nicely carmelized

1 Jar of roasted red peppers (use your favorite brand-watch the sodium, or roast your own)

Spread however much mayo you want (I used 1 Tbls for all you people who are into particulars)
Chop up some chicken and throw it on
Throw on some onions and red peppers
Roll it and wrap in parchment, then wrap in foil.
When you are ready to eat, toss it in the microwave (sans foil, of course) for 30-45 seconds and enjoy.

Easy peasy.

You can thank me later.

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

