Buffalo Chicken Wrap

Buffalo Chicken Wrap with Low Fat Bleu Cheese Dressing

Welcome to Wrap it up Wednesdays. Every week I’ll share an easy, healthy sandwich wrap that you can put together even before your morning coffee to take to work and impress your co-workers. Trust me, they’ll ask you where you ordered from.

I had so many people make my Chipotle Chicken Wrap and tell me how much they loved it, that I figured I’d do another. And who can resist a buffalo wing?

I have been trying very hard to watch what I eat and also cut down on spending, so it’s important for me to skip any kind of fast food takeout during the week. And we all know how unhealthy fast food can be. They lure us in with their convenience and toys.

I know that we are all busy. Most mornings can frazzle even those with nerves of steel. But making a homemade lunch doesn’t have to be time consuming.

You can put all the ingredients together on Sunday and eat all week. It will take you 37 seconds in the morning to whip it up. You’ll fatten your wallet and whittle your waistline all at the same time.

As with a lot of my recipes, measurements are up to you. Want more dressing? Add more dressing. Simple. If you want to use a bottled dressing, no one will stop you. See how easy I am? No rules.

I strongly suggest giving these a try. Here is a great site for some more lunch ideas.

Buffalo Chicken Wraps with Low Fat Bleu Cheese
1 lb. boneless skinless chicken tenders (or thinly sliced b/s breasts)
Olive oil (to mist)
Frank’s Red Hot Sauce “I put that s— on everything!”
shredded carrot
chopped celery
Bleu Cheese dressing

Bleu Cheese Dressing
1/2 c. light mayo
1/4 c. nonfat (or low fat) plain Greek yogurt (or light sour cream)
2 Tbls. champagne (or white wine) vinegar
1/4 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp. sugar
1/2 tsp. kosher salt
1/4 tsp. freshly ground pepper
1/8 tsp. garlic powder
1/3 c. crumbled bleu cheese

combine all ingredients (except bleu cheese) in a blender, food processor or blend with an immersion blender. Fold in bleu cheese and chill.

Heat up your grill (or grill pan)

Lightly mist chicken with oil so it doesn’t stick. Place on grill and baste with Frank’s Red hot. Flip after a couple of minutes and baste again. These will cook pretty quick. Reminder: Don’t cross contaminate!

Shred some carrots. Pre-bought shredded carrots are convenient, but more expensive. If you don’t have one of these get one. This is one of my favorite kitchen tools. I’d kiss it if I weren’t afraid of shredding my lips.

Chop your celery. You want to chop it fairly small so you aren’t pulling strings when you bite your sanwich.

Throw it all in baggies or containers and store in the fridge until ready to use.

Monday morning, put some chicken in a seperate container (so you can heat it at work), bring all the other ingredients (already wrapped or still in containers to put together just before eating) or just throw it all together in the wrap and eat it cold. I prefer heating the chicken up then wrapping it all together when I’m ready to eat. But it’s your preference. Remember, no rules.

I like to serve with a a couple of chips but a side of celery sticks would do nicely too.

Dressing recipe adapted by

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buffalo Chicken Wrap

  1. kristen smith says:

    I put that s— on everything! LOL

Say what?

