Martha, Martha! Where Art Thou?

Ok, let me first say that I am a huge Martha Stewart fan. I’ve been there since the beginning. I wore my “FREE MARTHA” shirt with pride during her prison sentence. I’ve subscribed to her magazine, watched her shows and followed her website for as long as I can remember.

I kept her magazines for years and read and re-read them over and over and over. They never got old. And it seemed every time I opened an issue, I would find something I’d overlooked. The glossy pages filled with beautiful food and flea market finds given new life with a simple coat of paint and a clever stencil, “Good Things” even I could make, and easy get together meals.

Opening the mailbox and getting a peek at the bright, colorful cover was like Christmas. I would plan my night around being able to sit down after the kids were in bed with a cup of tea and my magazine, putting sticky notes on pages I wanted to go back to later. It was a ritual.

I still look forward to the arrival of my monthly issue. The photos are more beautiful than ever, the food looks delicious, and the gardens are amazing and inspirational. But, it’s not the same.

Lately, I find it disappointing.

The food is beautiful, yes. But, more times than not, it is not something I would cook at home. Either there are too many ingredients, or utilizes equipment or skills I don’t have, or just too time consuming for the average busy mother. To be honest, even their “busy mother meals” seem a bit too, shall I say frou-frou.

I look forward to reading it. However, I get frustrated. Cranky even. It seems to have become a different medium. It isn’t so much a place to look for inspiration, homekeeping tips and great recipes as a place to look for a white shirt (yes, that was an entire article on pricey shirts) or a look into the entertaining habits of the wealthy and pretentious.

I must say, I find “From My Home To Yours” particularly grating. NO! I’m not jealous. Okay, who am I kidding? I could get used to living like that. It still bugs me. It depicts a scene of perfection that is out of reach for the average person. There I said it, I’m average. My yard has weeds, my kids eat food from a box, I only have one grill and it wasn’t custom made and let’s face it, I have more than one junk drawer,and the crap that’s in it is not labeled accordingly.

So why do I continue to read it? Trust me, I ask myself this often as I read how to make origami nesting boxes, which by the way, the editor’s themselves even claimed it was insanely complicated.

Fact is, I still like my ritual. I still like the anticipation of finding something helpful. Something delicious. And simply, something pretty. It is apparent to me that the average, busy mom is no longer the demographic they are aiming for. But I can still be inspired by how “the other half lives” and strive higher to make things in my own life a little more “frou-frou”.

It’s a Good Thing.

Any other Martha fans out there? Thoughts?

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

