Red Curry Pork Stir Fry

I have been craving Thai food lately. Our favorite Thai restaurant recently went out of business so my cravings have gone unsatisfied. Until tonight. The grand opening of Brown Sugar by the Sea. I am dragging my wonderful husband to the opening. I am anticipating a long wait, but with drink in hand, I think I’ll survive. I’ll post my review soon.

But, in the meantime, I came up with this and it has served the purpose of satisfying my cravings. It is easy, healthy and incredibly flavorful. If you love Asian inspired cuisine, you owe it to yourself to give this a shot.

I like that I can put it together quickly and it tastes amazing. The rich, sweetness of the coconut milk, and the heat of the sriracha sauce make for a perfect combination. It has tons of fresh vegetables easily adaptable to whatever protein or veggies you have on hand. I have started to make sure I always keep coconut milk and red curry paste in the house, so I can whip this dish up anytime.

Red Curry Pork Stir Fry
1 lb. pork loin, cut into 1″ cubes
3 scallions sliced
1 c. sliced carrots
1 c. red bell pepper (about 2) sliced into thin strips
2 c. pea pods
1 small can pineapple chunks, drained
2 T. red curry paste
1 c. light coconut milk (use the regular if you want a stronger coconut flavor and a thicker sauce)
1 T. Sri Racha sauce (or more or less to your taste)
2 T. canola oil
1 egg white
2 T. cornstarch
1 tsp. salt

In a medium bowl, whish egg white, cornstarch and salt. Add cubed pork and mix to coat. I use my fingers and squish it all up good so it’s all coated.

Prep all your veggies and set aside.

In a small bowl mix coconut milk, curry paste and Sri Racha and set aside.

In a large fry pan (don’t use a wok, you need a large surface) heat pan until a drop of water sizzles, then add 1 T. oil and swirl to coat.

Drop in pork. Again, use your fingers because you don’t want any extra batter, just the coated pork. Cook without stirring for a minute or two then turn and cook other side. Keep doing this until it lightly browned all over. It should only take 5-6 minutes. Not long at all. Remove from heat and place on a plate (don’t line plate with paper to get the oil, it will stick) the extra oil is perfectly fine to add back when you dump it all together at the end.

Put the fry pan back onto high heat and add the additional 1 T. oil. Let it get hot again then add the carrots and peppers. Cook for a minute or two without stirring. Then stir and add pea pods and pineapple cooking another minute or two. Stir everything around. Add the scallions and cook for a minute. After everything is cooked (almost) to your liking, add the coconut milk mixture and stir it all in then add the pork back and stir to incorporate.

Sorry for the non-descript timing of the cooking, but I like my veggies crunchy and others like theirs more well cooked. It’s all up to and your taste. You know how I easy I am about this type of stuff.

Serve over white or brown rice.

Enjoy!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

