Double Chocolate Caramel S’mores

Double Chocolate Caramel S'more

Summertime is made for s’mores.You can’t have a campfire without them. The challenge of finding the perfect stick for roasting your marshmallow. It’s all part of the process.

Now, I make my own marshmallows all the time. They are easy, delicious and versatile. But I also find they don’t come out so hot when it’s rainy. And since it’s been raining for the better part of two weeks now. I haven’t made any marshmallows recently.

Well, today the sun was shining and I decided to head to the farmers market for some fresh air and fresh produce. I came home with my bag packed with fresh picked strawberries, red leaf lettuce and a beautiful bunch of beets. And marshmallows. Yes, that’s right. Marshmallows.

As I walked around the tents, I came across Lydia of Sweet Lydia’s Gourmet Marshmallows. I had read an article about her and her company in Edible Boston, a gorgeous magazine about our local food culture. Even the ads are stunning. I suggest picking up a copy if you come across one.

I had to stop and say hi and of course try a sample. Or two. They were absolutely delicious. So light, fluffy and flavorful. I picked up a couple of bags and she was sweet enough to throw in another bag, just because. Classic vanilla, toasted coconut and chocolate. The toasted coconut were amazing. They barely made it home.

I decided I had to make s’mores. Those fluffy pillows of deliciousness were just begging to be squished in between some graham crackers. Though not just any graham cracker. A chocolaty, homemade graham cracker, that doesn’t crumble when you take a bite.

And since I was going for some decadence, I thought I’d try it with some caramel filled Ghirardelli squares. Not that traditional Hershey bars aren’t great, I just wanted a bit more sumthin, sumthin.

This was the first time I had ever made graham crackers and these were easy and delicious. I probably rolled them a little thicker than called for but only because I was impatient. I get like that. But I liked that they had a slight chew to them. Roll them real thin for that graham cracker crunch.

I used the classic vanilla marshmallow sprinkled with a little sea salt and the milk chocolate caramel square and it was awesome. Mindbendingly awesome.

Be careful though, I did notice homemade mallows melt a little differently than store bought. They get drippy quick, so pay attention.

You can order from Lydia here. Store bought is easy, yes, but the taste difference is amazing. Give these a shot. Really.

Chocolate Graham Crackers
1/2 c All-purpose flour
3/4 whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 c. Dutch-process
1 1/4 c. confectioners sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 c. unsalted butter
2 Tbls. honey
2 Tbls. milk

Preheat oven to 325 F. Cut 2 pieces of parchment paper to fit baking sheets

In a medium bowl whisk all dry ingredients together. Add butter and combine with a pastry blender or fingertips until it resembles coarse meal. In a separatebowl combine honey and milk and add to flour mixture. Toss lightly with a fork until dough comes together.

Turn dough onto a well floured surface and foldover itself 10-12 times until smooth. Divide in half. Work with half the douigh at a time, keeping the other covered.

Transfer one piece of dough to parchment and roll into a rectangle approximately 1/16″ thick. Trim edges and prick with a fork ordough docker. Transfer dough and parchment to baking sheet.

Bake approximately 15 minutes or until you smell chocolate. Remove from oven and immediately cut into rectangles with a pizza cutter or knife using a ruler as a guide. Remove to a rack to cool.

Recipe from King Arthur Flour

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

