Smoothie Freezer Packs

Blueberry Smoothie

My girl and I love smoothies. Everytime I pass by Panera Bread I pick up a mango smoothie. They bring a smile to face and a brain freeze to my head.

I had been buying Jamba Juice smoothies at the grocery store, when I had a coupon. They get pricey and don’t make a whole lot. But they were easy.

But really, if you think about it, smoothies are pretty darn easy. And since Summer’s berries are abundant, I thought “why not just make my own?”. Individually packaged and store in the freezer, they are equally as easy to throw into the blender with some milk, a lot cheaper and made with fresh from the farm berries.

Since I had some berries left over from my blueberry score and since they are incredibly good for you, I made a bunch of blueberry smoothie packets. I plan on making a whole bunch more this week with whatever looks good at the farm stand. I tend to stick with one type of fruit, as I like to enjoy the taste of each seasonal flavor. Peaches are starting to come out now, so they are at their peak flavor. I don’t want to cover that up with other flavors. Feel free to throw in your own favorite combinations though.

I use Stonyfield Organic 0% Fat French Vanilla yogurt. A large 32 oz. container is the perfect amount to fill each mini muffin tin. Then freeze to make the discs. When frozen just pop them out and put bag them up. You could also use any flavor yogurt you wish.

Blueberry Smoothie Packets

3/4 c. frozen blueberries
3/4 c. skim milk
3 frozen yogurt discs
1 Tbls. ground golden flaxseed
1/4 c. whey protein powder (optional)

Throw everything in a blender and blend until smooth. Enjoy!

Adapted from here

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Smoothie Freezer Packs

  1. So true. Making them yourself is easy and delicious!

  2. Leah says:

    These look delicious! I love smoothies…especially from Jamba Juice šŸ™‚

  3. These look awesome. Great idea to add flax seed in addition to whey protein!

Say what?

