Lunchbox Ideas: White Chocolate Cherry Granola Bars

White Chocolate Cherry Granola Bars

Well, it’s the beginning of the school year. Time to start packing lunches for the kiddos. I have been trying to make more homemade food items. I like to know my kids are getting healthy snacks during the day. My daughter is tough. She’s a grazer. I can’t remember the last time she sat and ate a “meal”. She does eat pretty well though. A meal for her is sharp cheddar cheese, wheat thins, ranch dip and baby carrots or an apple with cinnamon and peanut butter or just some yogurt or a smoothie. Yes, she could also grab some chips or some cookies, but I do try to limit that stuff.

I personally love a good chewy granola bar, so I thought I’d give them a shot. Especially since most of the boxed granola bars have high fructose corn syrup as a main ingredient and God only knows how long they have been in a box.

I let her pick out her own chips and dried fruit. I personally would have chosen dark chocolate chips for their health benefits, but that’s me. It is also a good project for her to help with. She will usually eat something she “cooks” herself.

These were a winner. I love the taste and texture. Chewy and dense. Not overly sweet but flavorful and loaded with good for you ingredients. I didn’t do a cost breakdown, but I imagine they are less expensive and also produce less consumer waste. It’s a win-win! Give them a shot. Switch them around if you want to suit your taste.

2 cups old fashioned oats
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup ground flaxseed
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 cup honey
1/4 c. agave syrup
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 cup dried sour cherries, chopped
3/4 cup white chocolate chips
3/4 cup sliced almonds

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 9×13 inch baking pan with parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, brown sugar, flax seed, cinnamon, flour, and salt. Make a well in the center, and pour in the honey, egg, oil and vanilla.

3. Mix well using your hands, add in cherries, chocolate chips and almonds. Pat the mixture evenly into the prepared pan.

4. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes in the preheated oven, until the bars begin to turn golden around the edges. Cool on wire rack for about 30 minutes before cutting. Cut into bars before completely cooled or they will crumble.

Adapted from My Baking Addiction

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunchbox Ideas: White Chocolate Cherry Granola Bars

  1. Kalie says:

    can you use same ingredients and make it with dif fruit and chips?

    • cluttercafe says:

      Absolutely Kalie! I love to switch them up. Use any kind of chip you want. I like the dark chocolate and cherry combo because of the nutrition. White chocolate and macadamia nut would be yummy. You could even add a little shredded coconut too. Really it’s whatever your taste is. Peanut butter and chocolate chips. Cashews. Whatever. If you don’t like agave, use all honey. I actually used half and half because I ran out of honey. Let me know what you come up with. I’ll be posting some more in the future. Thanks for stopping by!

Say what?

