Lightenened Up Oatmeal Butterscotch Bars

Oatmeal Butterscotch Bars

I love sweets. Did you know that? How could you not? Strangely, I dislike butterscotch. Why, you ask? Because it’s too sweet. What can I say, I’m weird complex.

So, the other day I was in the baking aisle at the grocery store, checking out the assortment of candy chips, I love doing that (refer to the previous paragraph). For some unknown reason, I felt compelled to grab a bag of butterscotch chips. I didn’t even have a clue as to what I was doing with them, except for the fact that I knew I didn’t have any and I felt a void that had to be filled.

I do remember that at some point in my life I had tried oatmeal butterscotch bars, and since any kind of bar made with oatmeal makes me smile, I thought I’d find a recipe and give it a shot. Since butterscotch is so sweet, I wanted something a little lighter to balance that sweetness.

I knew kristen at Iowagirleats would have something. She rocks! She has amazing recipes and some awesome workouts. Really, A great balance. Please go check her out. You won’t be disasppointed. I promise.

Here’s her recipe. These were really good. Even for a butterscotch hater such as myself. They were sweet and buttery, with a crumbly topping yet still chewy on the inside. The only change I made was that I swapped out the pecans for walnuts. I don’t really like pecans. ICK. Not even in pecan pie, which I also find way to sweet, but I digress.

Oatmeal Butterscotch Bars

•1 cup packed brown sugar
•5 Tablespoons butter, melted
•1 teaspoon vanilla
•1 egg
•9 oz flour (about 2 cups)
•2 1/2 cups oats (either quick-cooking or old-fashioned, which is what I used)
•1/2 teaspoon salt
•1/2 teaspoon baking soda
•3/4 cup fat-free sweetened condensed milk
•1 1/4 cups butterscotch chips
•1/8 teaspoon salt
•1/2 cup chopped walnuts (or pecans)

Instructions

•Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk together butter and sugar in a large bowl. Whisk in vanilla and egg, then set aside.
•In a separate bowl, combine flour, oats, salt, and baking soda. Add to butter and sugar mixture, then combine with a fork until crumbly.
•Place 3 cups of the oat mixture into the bottom of a non-stick sprayed 9×13″ baking dish. Press evenly into the bottom of the pan, then set it, and the remaining oat mixture, aside.
•Combine sweetened condensed milk, butterscotch chips, and salt together in a microwave safe bowl. Heat for 1 minute, stirring every 20 seconds, until melted and smooth. Pour over the crust, then spread to cover evenly. Sprinkle pecans on top, then add remaining oat mixture on top.
•Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until topping is golden brown. Place on a cooling rack and run a knife around the outside edges. Cool completely, then slice and serve.

Enjoy!

Recipe from Iowagirleats

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

