1 Pumpkin. 3 Recipes. Recipe #1…Spicy Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Saturday was a gorgeous, crisp, sunny Fall day.

I woke up at the buttcrack of dawn to drive my son 45 minutes away to be on the ice for a hockey game at 7:10. It was cold. Like, break out the winter jackets, cold. And really I just wanted to stay snuggled in my warm bed. I was tired from the morning before, when he had practice at 6:20 a.m. before school. Hockey moms out there, I know you feel my pain. My Visine couldn’t even get the red out this morning.

But, on a positive note, we were home by 9:15 after a 6-2 victory, so even I couldn’t keep bitching about it.

I decided it was time to use some of my baby bear pumpkins, which I stock up on as soon as they show their cute little selves at the farm.

I love everything about these little guys. I love the color of their roasted skin, the taste, the nutrition and all their beauty benefits.

So, today I thought I’d share with you what I do with my pumpkin.

1. I knock off the stem, cut them in half and scoop out the seeds.

2. I separate all the seeds from the stringy flesh.

3. The seeds get rinsed and the flesh gets pureed in the food processor and refrigerated until ready to use (I’ll let you know what to do with that later.

4. The halves get placed, cut side down, on a large cookie sheet covered with foil and baked at 400F for 25-35 minutes, or until fragrant and slightly soft if pressed with your finger. (I’ll let you know what I do with them later too)

For the Spicy Roasted Seeds

1 c. cleaned pumpkin seeds
2 Tbls. Butter, salted
1 tsp. Smoked Paprika
1 tsp. cayenne ( reduce if you don’t want them too spicy)
1 tsp. salt
1 Tbls. brown sugar

1. Preheat oven to 400F.

2. Soak cleaned seeds in a bowl of water with 1 tsp. salt for an hour (you can skip this step, but I find it makes them more flavorful…aka salty and delicious)

3. Drain and pat dry and set aside

4. In a bowl (big enough to fit seeds) melt 2 Tbls. butter and add spices. Mix together then toss in seeds and toss to coat.

5. Pour onto a greased cookie sheet and bake for approximately 1/2 hour stirring and tossing during cooking.

6. When fragrant and crunchy, remove and enjoy!

Warning! These are spicy and AWESOME! You won’t be able to keep away.

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1 Pumpkin. 3 Recipes. Recipe #1…Spicy Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

  1. These sound so tasty! I LOVE pumpkin seeds. Ideal for a snuggly autumnal film night. I really like your blog 🙂

    • cluttercafe says:

      Hi! Thanks so much! I just took a quick peak at your blog and can’t wait to spend some more time there. Very nice. I’m now a follower. Hope you come back again soon!
      Lisa

Say what?

