Meatballs

Who doesn’t love a good meatball? On top of spaghetti? (yes I was just singing it to myself, if you must know). On a sub roll with a heap of bubbling melted cheese. In a hearty bowl of soup. Right off the end of a fork or your fingers? (Not that I do would ever do that).

There are so many different varieties. Italian, Swedish, Sweet and Sour. Big ones, small ones. Baked, fried. You name it!

My husband would pick on his mom relentlessly because she would put raisins in her meatballs. She swore up and down she learned that from a woman “right off the boat from the old country”. I don’t think anyone ever believed her that that was an Italian thing. Nevertheless, she never deviated from her story. Between you and me, I actually enjoyed them.

This is my simple meatball recipe. Tried and true their texture is perfect every time. They are browned and somewhat crusty on the outside and moist and spongy on the inside. Although they do not have a lot of spices, they are far from flavorless. I know it’s good when the husband tells me to post them.

I hope you try them. I promise you won’t be dissappointed.

1 lb ground beef (I use organic, 85-90% lean)
1 egg
3 oz. crusty bread (I use an old Parisien stick)
1/2 c. light cream (you can use half and half as well)
1 c. prepared bread crumbs (plain or Italian), divided
1/2 c. ketchup
1/2 c. grated parmesan cheese
1 tsp. ground pepper
1 Tbls. dried parsley
1/4 c. olive oil

1. Take your rings off! Things are about to get messy.
2. In a medium bowl soak bread (not crumbs) in the cream. Mash it all up with your hands until it turns into a sort of paste. Don’t worry if there are a few chunky pieces.
3. Add all the other ingredients (except 1/2 of the crumbs) to the bread paste and mash together to combine. Roll into good size balls (if you’re as infantile as I am, you should be chuckling right now) Sorry, I digress. Back to business.
4. Roll in bread crumbs to coat.
5. Heat olive oil on medium-medium high heat in a big skillet and brown meatballs on all sides. They don’t need to be cooked through and you don’t want to burn them.
6. Place in an oven-proof dish and bake in a peheated 350F oven for about 10-15 minutes depending on how big they are. Don’t overcook. Dry meatballs are just plain icky.
7. Top with your favorite marinara and some fresh shaved parmesan or however you enjoy them.
Enjoy!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meatballs

  1. Meg says:

    Delicious! I’ve never been able to make a good meatball until now – thanks!!

Say what?

