The Housekeeping Manicure

gloves

I don’t know about you, but Winter does a number on my hands. Between the constant hand washing and Purelling, Lysoling and house-cleaning, my hands are dry, cracked and sore.

Since I can’t stop all the above hand-tormentors, I’ve got to give them a little extra love. I wash with a gentle (NON anti-bacterial) soap, make sure they are dried well and use a good (unscented) lotion after every handwash.

That helps, but it still isn’t doing the trick. Manicures help, but really, who has time. And besides, being a licensed manicurist, I’ve got to tell you that soaking actually dries your skin.

I use a paraffin bath, which is amazing! My skin feels soft and supple and my joints are relaxed. If you have one and don’t use it…plug it in. If you don’t have one, they can be pricey, but most nail salons have it as an added service. If you can do it, I suggest you try.

My best trick though is this. Kill two birds with one stone.

1. Scrub your hands with a nice scrub if you have one. If you don’t have one, you can use some olive oil mixed with sugar (make it kind of dry and scrub while hands are dry).
2. Rinse and dry hands.
3. Load up your hands with lotion. I mean really lay it on thick.
4. Throw on some good rubber housecleaning gloves
5. Start cleaning!

Yep, that’s right. Scrub toilets, turn the water on super hot and do the dishes, wash the floors. Time to get down and dirty. The hotter the water, the better. Take extra care not to let water into the gloves or that will defeat the purpose and give you prune hands.

When you’re done, remove gloves and rub in any remaining lotion. It really works great! Don’t forget, if you plan to paint your nails right after, swipe nails with alcohol or nailpolish remover so polish will stick.

Enjoy your soft hands!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in scattered thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

