Tiramisu Ice Cream Cake

Tiramisu Ice Cream Cake

Tiramisu Ice Cream Cake

I know what you’re thinking.

“Ice cream cake in February?”

Well, not really my choice. Here’s how it played out. I decided to turn to my co-workers for inspiration. I asked the people I work closest with to share their birthday and favorite cake with me. I thought it would be a good opportunity to try some new recipes and keep me posting.

There was a catch though. It might not necessarily be their favorite cake. It might be a “take” on their favorite cake. It also may have a slice taken out, for pictures of course.

So today is the first of many to come. Fortunately for my hips, the cake will be going to work, so I won’t actually be eating all this cake. I mean, these are not diet cakes I’m making here. I’m going for full on indulgence people.

Today’s birthday request was for ice cream cake. I’ve never made an ice cream cake. I did want a little twist on a traditional “Carvel” type cake. Since he is Italian and enjoys Italian food, I decided to go for a tiramisu ice cream cake. It also helped that it is loaded with coffee and we were having it at a breakfast meeting. See? Justified.

This cake is super easy and really tasty and refreshing. I find tiramisu to be a bit too boldly flavored and rich with all the espresso and mascarpone, but this had the flavor of tiramisu without the density and strength. I rather enjoyed it.

I think everyone did. Even if it was for breakfast.

This might not be something you want to run right out and make, I mean it is 20 degrees outside, but I highly recommend you keep it in the archives for a summertime party.

You can thank me then.

Enjoy!

    Tiramisu Ice Cream Cake

1/2 c. sugar
1/4 c. Kahlua
3/4 c. strongly brewed espresso
1 package lady fingers
2 pints Espresso Chip or Mocha Chip Ice Cream (I used Edy’s Espresso Chip)
2 pints Coffee Ice Cream
1/4 c. finely ground espresso
1/4 c. Dutch process cocoa or dark chocolate cocoa powder
chocolate curls for garnish, desired

1. Place sugar and 1/3 cup water in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat; stir in espresso and Kahlua and let it cool.

2. Place ground espresso and cocoa powder together in a sifter.

3. Dip lady fingers, one at a time in syrup and line the bottom of a standard loaf pan. I dipped each cookie twice quickly, enough to soak in the liquid but not letting them get soggy. Sift about 2 tablespoons espresso/chocolate mixture over cookies

4. Place espresso chip ice cream in the bowl of an electric mixer. Beat on low speed with the paddle attachment until spreadable. Spread ice cream over cake; top with a second layer of dipped lady fingers and sift espresso/chocolate mixture again.

5. Place coffee ice cream in a mixer bowl. Beat on low speed until spreadable. Spread ice cream cookies and smooth with an offset spatula. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and place in freezer to completely harden.

6. To unmold, let sit for 5 minutes and use a knife to loosen sides. Place a plate (not the serving plate) on top and invert. If it is still cold and won’t come out easily, just use the warmth of your hands to rub the pan. Now flip it again onto the serving platter. Sprinkle the top with more espresso/chocolate mixture and garnish with chocolate curls.

Adapted from Martha Stewart

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiramisu Ice Cream Cake

  1. explodyfull says:

    I love Tiramisu and ice cream cakes are the best so this sounds great!! I am pretty sure there is no such thing as a diet cake!

Say what?

