New Beginnings

failure

Hi!

I’ve missed you. Really and truly.

These past couple of weeks have been, what’s the word? Chaotic. Yes, chaotic would be word I’m looking for.

There have been dress rehearsals, hockey tournaments, playoffs and award ceremonies. And let us not forget, a new work schedule, Easter, out of town guests and sickness.

But, that is all behind me now. I have forgiven myself for my blogging sebaticle, my stack of laundry and my empty refrigerator and am ready to move on.

I did some soul searching during this time and I discovered something about myself.

I have a fear of failure. Yep. In a nutshell, this is my problem.

I spend countless hours on Pinterest “liking” things I want to try, but never actually trying them.

I read magazines and clip articles on decorating, but never make any changes in my home.

I clip workout cards from Health and Self magazine and have not done one. Not one!

All because I am fraid to try something new, for fear I might fail.

Guess, what? I will fail.

I think I’m okay with that now.

As “The Great One” Wayne Gretzy once said, “You will always miss 100% of the shots you don’t take”.

Along with a fear of failure though is my lack of self confidence. It has always been an issue for me. Whether it is how I look, how I bake, how I write, how I parent…whatever. I have never felt my talents are good enough. I let the nasty voices in my head talk over the voices that love and encourage me. Until that changes, nothing will change.

So starting right now, I am shutting out those voices that lie and steal and am allowing myself to accept me for me. Allowing myself to fail, thereby allowing myself to grow.

I’m glad I have a group of wonderful family, friends and readers so share it all with.

Thanks for the support.

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in scattered thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Beginnings

  1. Nancy Adams says:

    We can all learn from your words Lisa…

  2. Charlotte hart says:

    When I see you I see someone confident and sure of her self.
    Some of us have this need to do a good job no matter what.

Say what?

