Classic Waffles with Fresh Strawberries

Classic Waffles with Fresh Strawberries

Classic Waffles with Fresh Strawberries

First, let me just say that I am convinced my husband and I share a brain. After almost twenty years together, we can easily finish each other’s thoughts. It’s a little scary sometimes.

So, it didn’t completely surprise me when, after weeks of fighting the urge to buy a waffle iron, I walked into the kitchen to find one sitting on the counter, even though I hadn’t mentioned it to him.

My dilemma was that I didn’t think I would use it enough to justify buying one, but man was I wrong! I use this thing constantly. No more tasteless, frozen frizbees around here! I make a couple of batches on the weekend, let them cool and throw them in a ziplock bag and store in the freezer.

They are great to pop in the toaster oven in the morning. The kids absolutely love them and I love that they are not loaded with preservatives and how easy they are to prepare.

If you have a waffle iron, try this recipe. It is simple and delicious. It makes a flavorful, light and airy waffle, perfect to be topped with fresh fruit, or butter and syrup. Sometimes I even throw some blueberries right into the batter. Whichever way you serve them, they are so good!

So “L’Eggo your Eggo” and try something easy, delicious and unprocessed.

    Classic Waffles

2 c. all-purpose flour
4 tsp. Baking Powder
1 tsp. salt
2 Tbls. sugar
1 1/2 c. warm milk
1/3 c. melted butter
2 large eggs
1 tsp. Vanilla

1. In a large bowl, combine, flour, baking powder, salt and sugar and stir to combine.

2. In a separate bowl, whisk eggs then Combine milk, butter and vanilla and add to dry mixture.

3. Stir until well blended.

4. Pour appropriate amount (see manufacturer’s guidelines for your specific model) onto hot waffle iron and cook as directed.

5. Serve with fresh strawberries (I slice and throw in a little sugar) then top with whipped cream.

Enjoy!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Classic Waffles with Fresh Strawberries

  1. Love waffles yet am iron-less. Agree about those store–frozen kind–awful, even the WF brand. Recipe sounds nice and easy, as the one I used from Cooks Illustrated involves beating egg whites, if I recall. Nice to have a husband who connects with your psyche. Now fresh, organic strawberries are my wow go to now. Especially with gobs of organic heavy whipped cream! Thanks for stopping by.

    • cluttercafe says:

      They are wicked easy! (Sorry for the Boston dialect) We have had such a cold Spring, I don’t think strawberries will be out here until June! We had a frost the other night. It is starting to warm up though. I hit the farmers market on Sunday, it’s nice to see what they have each week, even through the cold weather. I’m with you, I’ll be posting some yummy strawberry recipes soon (I hope). Have any good ones? Thanks for checking out the site. Take care

      • WE had two frosts here this week too. Today may be 75. Mother Nature is having her way with all of us AGAIN! I am most concerned about my nesting pair of bluebirds. Incubation and insect finds are very difficult during such temperature swings.
        I have over 116 posts, so do go poke around my search bar. Cheers!

      • cluttercafe says:

        I have 2 pairs of bluebirds that have been hanging around. They are so beautiful! I will certainly check out your posts! Nice chatting with you!

      • Do you have a bluebird box in your yard? They are house shopping, so why not consider becoming a BB monitor? Check out my “suggested reading” in my search bar.

  2. Lisa says:

    I don’t have one! I’ll check out your suggested reading section tonight. Thanks

Say what?

