Nicoise Terrine

nicoisejar

I am trying to eat healthier, cleaner and cheaper.

Bringing lunch to work is sure-fire way to save money and eat better. Although mornings are tough to get everyone out the door on time, this recipe was quick and portable.

All you need to do is layer your ingredients in a jar and you’re done. Feel free to use jarred ingredients or pre-cook your own to keep sodium and fat content down. I usually cook a batch of dry beans early in the week to throw into lunches, so I had those on hand instead of canned. Canned beans can be incredibly high in sodium. I also blanched some green beans and as I had the grill on for something else, I threw a red pepper on to char, then I let it cool, seeded and sliced it all the day before.

But as I said, good quality jarred items make a really good substitution and make this meal super quick.

Here is how I put it together, starting at the bottom. I packed this really tight, as everything will settle. To serve, I just scooped it onto a plate.

red peppers
cannelini beans
sliced black olives
canned tuna (I used solid white in water, but feel free to use whatever)
green beans
Then I seasoned with salt, pepper and dried parsley and drizzled with extra virgin olive oil and a splash of balsamic vinegar.
Cover it up and give it a shake. Don’t be like me and forget it on the counter.

Now I must tell you, I’m a sucker for anything in a mason jar (except stinkbugs, which my daughter has been collecting lately) and I loved this light, healthy, flavorful lunch. I plan on coming up variations to share in the future.

Enjoy!

Thanks Martha

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nicoise Terrine

  1. Catherine Horne says:

    sounds great, husband has been wanting tuna, nice way to have it.

Say what?

