Pineapple Angel Food Cake with Cherry Whipped Cream

Pineapple Angel Food Cake with Cherry Whipped Cream

Pineapple Angel Food Cake with Cherry Whipped Cream

Last week I went to Flour Bakery in Back Bay. It totally renewed my love for Joanne Chang’s Flour cookbook.

I have a thing for cookbooks and this one has so many exceptional recipes that each page is flagged with “must make” notes. I made this cake and it was a huge hit. But, I got too busy and put the book away.

Well, after eating there I have been taking another look and deciding what to make next. As I was thumbing through, I saw a recipe for pineapple upside down cake, it looked really good. My mother used to make this cake alot. It’s one of her favorites and is so easy to make.

Nevertheless, even that was too much for me to whip together this weekend, so I came up with an alternative.

It was easier than easy and was really light and delicious.

You only need two ingredients for the cake.

1 box of angel food cake mix
1 8 oz can crushed pineapple

Follow the instructions on the box, replacing the water with the pineapple. Bake and cool as directed.

For the whipped cream

1 c heavy (or whipping) cream
1/4 c. maraschino cherry juice
2 Tbls powdered sugar
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
Put all ingredients into a clean, chilled mixer bowl. Use the whisk attachment and beat on medium to high until peaks form.

Serve and enjoy.

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pineapple Angel Food Cake with Cherry Whipped Cream

  1. bepcity says:

    This is just adorable! And sounds amazing. Also, I can’t believe I still haven’t visited Flour. Need to go there soon!

    • cluttercafe says:

      Tastes like a lighter pineapple upside down cake. Way easier too! I enjoyed Flour. I don’t go into the city often, but I figured since I was there, I needed to do it. I got the oston Cream Pie which I actually thought was a little too heavy. Almost boozy. I like a lighter flavored custard. My son got a triple chocolate pudding cakey thing. It looked like a bomb, like an upside down bowl. I made him give it up. It was really good. We also had oreos, which were a little too dark chocolatey for me. I guess I’m not much of a foodie after all. I did try their famous sticky buns, which were really yummy…and sticky. If you’re around, you should go.

Say what?

