One Pan Pasta

one pan pasta1

Okay, so you know I’m all about quick and easy, right? You know I hate doing dishes and that I can destroy a kitchen with a single recipe (or so my husband reminds me every time I cook)? So, this recipe was right up my alley. One pan? Are you freaking kidding me!

I was skeptical, to say the least. But I had to give it a try. I mean, if this worked, I think my life would change forever.

Well, let me tell you. It totally worked! I am in love with this recipe. It is brilliant!

I threw all the ingredients in a large pasta pot (not a pan) and what comes out is a perfectly cooked al dente pasta in a creamy, slightly spicy sauce. The sauce is sort of indescribable. All the ingredients meld together with the starch of the pasta to create something very different.

I did add 1 tablespoon of sugar and 1 tablespoon of butter to the recipe, as sometimes the tomatoes (especially this time of year) are a bit tart. And a little butter always makes things better. I also added a little dried oregano, just for a little extra something.

If you are a skeptic like me, don’t be. This is a must try!

Enjoy!

one pan pasta2

One Pan Pasta
12 ounces linguine
12 ounces cherry or grape tomatoes, halved or quartered if large
1 onion, thinly sliced (about 2 cups) I used vidalia
4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1 teaspoon red-pepper flakes
1 Tbls sugar
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 Tbls butter
2 sprigs basil, plus torn leaves for garnish
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for serving
Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
4 1/2 cups water
Freshly grated Parmesan cheese, for serving

Directions
1.Combine pasta, tomatoes, onion, garlic, red-pepper flakes, basil, oregano, sugar, butter, oil, 2 teaspoons salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper, and water in a large straight-sided skillet. Bring to a boil over high heat. Boil mixture, stirring and turning pasta frequently with tongs, until pasta is al dente and water has nearly evaporated, about 9 minutes.

2.Season to taste with salt and pepper, divide among 4 bowls, and garnish with basil. Serve with oil and Parmesan.

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

