Aging Gracefully, or Just Aging?

I hate to even admit it, but I am at that age. My girls out there know what I’m talking about. I had a discussion with my bestie the other day about this very topic. We spent over an hour discussing our assorted ass-aches. It was uplifting to know it wasn’t just me. I believe we also touched on the topic of winning the lottery and doing great things for others but making sure we saved enough money to have our “parts” lifted, tucked, tightened and tanned.

I don’t know about you, but I fight this “getting older” thing. It kinda sucks. It takes a lot longer to put myself together these days. Gone are the days where I could get up, run a brush through my hair, rinse my face with cool water and out the door I went.

Nowadays it takes much more time. And much more product. Layer upon layer of anti-aging products. Lift, tighten, reduce swelling, correct, cover. Ugh. And that’s just the face! There’s a whole other line of products for the hair and the rest of the body.

Then there are the style choices. This is a toughy for women our age. To be stylish and trendy, but not too trendy. Too trendy means you’re trying too hard. You must be just trendy enough. It’s a fine line.

That doesn’t mean we have to throw in the towel though. We just have to put in a lot little more effort and give it a lot little more thought.

Personally, I’m a fan of the “Mom” jean. Low rise jeans are just not flattering on me. Does it mean I’m out of style? No. It just means I don’t want my rear end and my muffin top hanging out and I’m being courteous to my fellow human beings.

Gray hair on a man is sexy and distinguished (think George Clooney and Richard Gere) *drool. On a woman? Think, well no one, because 99% of celebrity women color it, Gray hair is rarely attractive on a woman. Don’t get me wrong, there are some gorgeous silver haired ladies. They are out there. I will not be one of them, however.

Fortunately, there are no rules for age-appropriate nail polish. All those fun Summer shades just make me happy. It’s all about picking the right color for your skin tone. If you’re an Autumn, stay an Autumn. Did you know that red nails are classic and sexy? Of course you did. But, the right red, that is. Bright reds with a hint of orange make your hands look lively, whereas blue-based reds bring out the veins in your hands and make them look older.

So ladies, take a little extra time and put your best face forward. You’re only as old as you allow yourself to be.

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in scattered thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Aging Gracefully, or Just Aging?

  1. I don’t know what age is “that” age you’re talking about. I’m in it with you though and I’m using ALL, that I can find, anti-aging products! Shamelessly, the darn things didn’t really do the magic or the gravity got the best of me. I don’t know. What I want to add is VITAMINS HELP. Even though I truly believe that I should have save the money I spent on the anti-aging products (only if I could stop myself) to do the “lift” operation or laser lift, but I wouldn’t cut the money I spent on vitamins.

    • cluttercafe says:

      Glad you’re in it with me. I appreciate hearing from other woman and the that they dela with the same stuff. For awhile I thought I was going a little crazy. Also glad to know other people are trying as hard to fight the fight. I am just now starting to take a multivitamin and my doctor suggested evening primrose for some of the “aging symptoms” that we women go through. I am on a 30 day trial diet and evening primrose. I’ll let everyone know how it goes. The diet is similar to Paleo. So this will be a bit of a switch for me. I’m a carbaholic. As with the anti-aging products, I can’t keep away from them! I’m afraid I might miss some sort of miracle product that will revert me back to 21! The endless search for the fountain of youth.

      • at least 1000-2000mg vitamin C (time release) would help you with the collagen problem. Evening primrose is alright but I go for vitamin E (400 units) and even go for shooting HGH hormone! Sunblock is more important than clothes! That’s how I roll but mannnn aging sucks, and I’m referring toward health more than look. I don’t do weird diet at all. I just eat everything moderately, exercise regularly, get massage (trying to be) regularly but my biggest problem is sleep. The older you get the less sleep you need but your body always need more.

      • cluttercafe says:

        Interesting! I agree, I think at my age things have changed from how I look to how I feel. If I feel good, it shows. Healthy skin, hair, it all shows. It does suck though! I find I need more sleep and I do not get enough. I am tired a lot but, 5 hours is not enough for me. Need at least 7 to be on my game. Oh well, we’ll keep fighting!

  2. kristen says:

    well….I will say my hands now look like the crypt keeper. Veins are everywhere even my earlobes. I do think I am aging gracefully, which takes full acceptance and respect for ones self. You know the woman who is trying too hard and not only is it sad but it can be pathetic. I will not be that woman.
    Even if I did have the money, how much would I really spend on nips and tucks??? I’d be afraid of God punishing me, dying on the table for my vanity when I could have been digging wells for families in Nigeria.
    Lets show women it can be done. Nothing sexier than healthy….mentally, physically and spiritually. Look, I have things that bother me, but I also know in the end…well, who gives a shit? lol

Say what?

