Vanilla Roasted Walnuts

Vanilla Roasted Walnuts

Vanilla Roasted Walnuts


So, in my eternal quest to find a healthy, delicious, easy (duh) snack, I came this recipe on Elana’s Pantry. This a great site for those of you eat a special diet, like nut-free, grain-free, dairy-free, paleo, etc. Elana is amazing. Go check her out. I do not eat a special diet, although I am doing a “Paleo sorta thing” right now, as I am trying to eliminate grain.

So, I immediately went to Elana. She’s got great recipes for all kinds of special diets.

My biggest challenge right now is finding healthy snacks that are crunchy and satisfying. These fit the bill. I love the crunch of roasted walnuts and these were also sweet, and warmly spiced with vanilla and cinnamon and a hint of sea salt.

Give these a try for a heart healthy snack that really satisfies.

    Vanilla Roasted Walnuts


2 c. walnuts
1 Tbls olive oil
1 Tbls vanilla bean paste (or seeds from 2 vanilla beans)
2 Tbls agave syrup or honey (I used agave)
1/4 tsp sea salt
Dash of cinnamon

1.Place walnuts and oil in a cast iron skillet heat on high until you hear a sizzle, then turn heat down to medium low.
2. Toast walnuts a few minutes until they smell nice and nutty, make sure not to overdo them or they get bitter.
3. Add agave and vanilla bean paste and distribute around pan stirring, cook for a minute or two, then add salt and cinnamon

Enjoy!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vanilla Roasted Walnuts

  1. kristen says:

    Sounds so yummy! I love crunch! Where is agave and vanilla bean paste? I’ve actually never heard of the paste.

    • cluttercafe says:

      These are soooooooooooo good. Actually, everyone in the family picked at them. That’s always a sure sign they’re good! You can find agave where the sugar is or in the natural section or sometimes even where the honey is. There are mixed reviews on agave. I’m going to look into it and do a post. I like it. I use it in my tea, in my chia pudding, granola bars, etc. A little seems to go a long way. The vanilla bean paste is my new love! It comes in a jar where the vanilla is. If you have ever looked at the price of a jar of vanilla beans it is CRAZY expensive. I use Neilsen-Massey Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla Bean Paste http://www.amazon.com/Nielsen-Massey-Vanillas-Madagascar-Bourbon-Vanilla/dp/B002HQE11O One Tablespoon=1 tablespoon vanilla extract. I love the color it gives and I love to see all the little seeds. So yummy! You will love these! If you give them a shot, let me know how they were.

Say what?

