Chicken Marbella

marbella
So, as I’ve said previously, I am doing a Paleo sort of diet thing. Now I say that, but to be honest I don’t even really know what Paleo is. I also have no intention of spending a lot of time researching it either. I have realized the more I “diet” the fatter I get. Why, you ask? Because when I diet all I think about is food. What am I going to eat? When can I eat? How much can I eat? Eat! Eat! Eat! So I do.

So, no more diets. Just smarter eating. So I know that for me, carbs are bad. I don’t mean veggies and fruits, I mean bread, crackers, pasta, processed foods. So that’s what I have been cutting out. I am sticking with vegetables, lean protein, nuts, seeds, berries, low fat dairy, eggs. Like I said, is this Paleo? Don’t know, don’t care. This is how I’m eating.

It’s been a week and I’ve got to say, I feel ok. Actually, pretty good. I have been grazing during the day instead of bigger meals, which in turn has made me way less ravenous at night. That’s a good thing. I’m a nighttime snacker typically.

Well, while I was searching for some new recipes I came across an old, revised (Paleo) recipe for Chicken Marbella.

I first had Chicken Marbella years ago when a co-worker brought it in for a potluck. It was amazing. I asked her for the recipe and she obliged by giving me her copy of The Silver Palate Cookbook. When I looked at the ingredients, I have to say, I was a little grossed out. When you see the ingredients you’ll see why. But you’re gonna have to trust me on this one.

The revised version from Elana’s Pantry is much simpler, less time consuming (the original calls for marinating overnight) and tastes as incredible as the original.

I love that this recipe is something I am “allowed” to eat. It is so incredibly flavorful and it has that sweet/salt thing you know I love. The only thing I did different than Elana is that I used 2 split chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. It is delicious served with a side of white rice (which I did not have, by the way). This recipe would also be wonderful made with drummettes for an appetizer.

Chicken Marbella
2 large split chicken breasts (bone in)
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 cup pitted green olives
1 cup pitted prunes
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1 tablespoon capers
2 bay leaves
1 clove pressed garlic
1/4 c. olive oil
1/4 c. agave nectar
1/4 c. apple cider vinegar
1/4 c. water

1.Rinse the chicken and pat dry

2.Place the chicken breast side up in a 9 x 13 inch baking dish, sprinkle with salt

3.In a large bowl, combine the olives, prunes, oregano, capers, bay leaves, garlic, olive oil, agave, apple cider vinegar and water

4.Spread the contents of the bowl in the dish around the chicken (I tossed the chicken around to coat as well)

5.Bake at 425° for 20 minutes

6.Lower heat to 375° and continue to roast the chicken until it is cooked through, about 25-30 minutes depending on size of breasts or if using drummettes (use a meat thermometer if unsure)

7.Remove from oven and serve

Enjoy!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Marbella

  1. Donna says:

    LOVE your change of using split breasts….BUT I fear I might miss the red wine vinegar (or Xères) and the white wine from the original…Thinking of subbing in muscavado sugar or coconut palm sugar for the agave….but your proportions are spot-on….Why do you not include the wine?…Is it not Paleo?…If not…I have been a bad Paleo girl for months now…with a glass of wine on the weekends!!!…I always thought that wine in cooking “cooked off” most of the calories/sugar component?…Thanks and this is a pin!

    • cluttercafe says:

      Hi Donna! Thanks for the pin and for checking me out. I LOVE the original!!! I’ve got to say, this recipe as it is, is almost identical in taste. I make it every week. I have it for dinner and take the rest for lunches. I got this from Elana’s Pantry. She says it’s Paleo. I know some people don’t use agave, so I guess you can try it with an alternative sweetener of your choice. I do use agave. This recipe is absolutely my favorite lately. I am not sure why she didn’t include the wine, but I’ll tell you, it doesn’t make a difference. It’s PERFECT! Try it and let me know what you think. I love using the split breasts and I’ve also made it for parties using the little party wings. OMG! Great for classing up those football parties. And by the way, I’m pretty sure if cavemen had wine, they’d be drinkin it! lol. so you’re forgiven

Say what?

