Blueberry Dutch Pancake

Blueberrt Dutch Pancake

Blueberrt Dutch Pancake


I hope everyone had a wonderful, fun and safe 4th. It has been super hot here, but the kids and I braved the heat and went berry picking that morning. I was a bit sad that strawberries had already passed, but thrilled that raspberries, blackberries and blueberries were in abundance.

We didn’t stay long due to the heat, but that was ok. I was able to find a couple of things to do with them all.

Sunday mornings are typically reserved for homemade waffles, but I wanted to try something a little different.

These were so pretty and tasty. They are baked in the oven instead of on the stove, which make for a very simple breakfast. They puff up like balloons in the oven and deflate after they are removed, making them rich and almost custard-like instead of light and fluffy like a regular pancake. I brushed them with some melted butter then dusted with powdered sugar and maple syrup. Delicious.

Although I think I liked them better than the kids. They are huge fans of the tiny wild blueberries, but the plump cultivated berries we pick around here at the farms, are far less popular with them. They enjoy the picking but not so much the eating.

I followed the recipe, with the exception of lemon zest. I’m not a fan of warm lemon for some reason. This recipe was so simple, I suggest giving it a try with some of those freshly picked berries this Summer.

    Blueberry Dutch Pancake


4 large eggs
1 cup whole milk
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 cup blueberries
Confectioners’ sugar, for sprinkling

Directions
1.Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine eggs, milk, flour, granulated sugar and salt in a bowl and blend using a hand blender or use a blender.

2.Heat a 12-inch cast-iron skillet over high heat. Add butter and let melt. Pour in batter and scatter with berries. Transfer to the oven and bake until puffed and cooked through and top is set, 20 to 25 minutes. Top with berries, and sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar. Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

Recipe from Martha Stewart

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blueberry Dutch Pancake

  1. bepcity says:

    it’s beautiful! Sounds like a lovely way to start the morning.

  2. Hmmm I never try it with blueberries in the pancake. I usually made my Dutch baby on its own and cook the berries to pour over after. How is the fruits effect the fluff of the pancake? I might have to try one myself. Thanks for the idea.

    • cluttercafe says:

      It came out of the oven beautifully puffed, rich and eggy! The fruit did not weigh it down. The juicy berries did make a kind of syrup on their own as it cooled a bit but did not make it watery. I really enjoyed it. You could use small, wild blueberries if you wanted a less fruity type pancake. I really enjoyed biting into those plump, fresh picked berries. BTW, thanks for the AWESOME jam making tutorial! http://highheelgourmet.com/2013/07/04/basic-jam-for-beginners/ I am so in canning mode right now!

      • Alright…I’m sold 🙂 on the idea of biting in to the fruits…yummy!…It will be my weekend treat (I will post the picture on my Instagram if you want to see the result of my homework) Thanks

        Also thanks for the kind words about my blog 🙂 Homemade preserves taste so much better.

      • cluttercafe says:

        Can’t wait to see it! You always do such beautfiul stuff. I am fairly new to canning, it always scares me, so your tuturial is very helpful. I am doing a tomato canning class on Sunday. We have hit tomato season around here! I always make my own marinara sauce and am eager to learn how to make it in batches and preserve it for the winter (without using canned tomatoes). Wish me luck!

      • I bet they still teaching the messy water bath thing 😉 I hate it with passion…lol… I wouldn’t do so much canning if I have to do water bath BEFORE and AFTER.

        Canning is just make sure that you sterile everything and the pH of your content is lower than 4.6. You can buy litmus paper to test it (Amazon) and with experience you would know what’s good and what you should be careful with.

        Have fun at the class and before you go you can read this http://highheelgourmet.com/2012/09/21/pomodoro/. It’s just my recipe for pomodoro sauce that I canned every year. I use it as a base for marinara sauce because I want some fresh herb flavor in marinara so I cook onion, basil, rosemary or other herb and even bacon then I add this sauce in it.

        You don’t have to worry about botulism too because tomatoes sauce usually has pH lower than 4.6 for sure. Just make sure you can right after you are done boiling. I never keep these more than a year. Once I hit the tomato season again, I turn it in to a ketchup (meaning un-canned, re-sterlie add more vinegar and re-can) that would keep for another year but I normally don’t have a lot left.

        I don’t like MSG and preservative and to buy a jar of organic pomodoro sauce that has no MSG and preservative would cost around $10 or over. So I made my own. Organic tomatoes at the peak of the season would cost only $1/lb or less and a jar of sauce (24 oz) would need about 3 lb! Not only it taste better, no additive but also much more reasonable price.

      • cluttercafe says:

        Thanks for the tips! I’m going to check out your link now and give it a shot. I always get scared of spoilage when I can anything. I am very particular about how I sterilize my equipment. I actually use a water bath, as that’s the only way I know to process. I too hate it though! I am definitly planning on more canning education this Summer. Again, I just want to know that I am processing everything safely. We always use immediately what I am unsure of. I am planning on making jellies for CHristmas gifts, so I want to get started now, so I can spend more time enjoying the holidays. Also, seasonal fruits and veggies are in abundance, so I want to take advantage. It’s a long Winter here in NE 😦

        I totally agree about all the crap they put in our food. You can’t even pronounce most of the things! I have greatly reduced my use of processed foods. Especially with my kids. We make our own cookies, granola bars, fruit roll-ups, etc. I find they are more willing to try new things if they participate in making them also.

        Thanks again for all your help. I will let you know how things turn out!

        BTW, got news my uncle is coming home from Thailand next year, so I have a year to practice all the wonderful Thai recipes on your site so I can show off my skills :)!

      • I’m going o get blueberries at the market today…

        Jellies, sound yummy. I never make anything else but wine jellie (eat with cheese). I can’t wait to see them. Are you on Instagram? Facebook?

        lol…surprise your uncle with a nice Thai meal. If you want any recipe for that, let me know.

      • I did it! It came out so yummy…(picture is on Instagram and my page on Facebook) I never thought of fruits in Dutch baby and it is really awesome!

Say what?

