Harvest Turkey Wheatberry Salad

DSC_0089

A few weeks ago I ate lunch at Panera Bread, my favorite “fast food” joint. I am totally beyond thrilled that they are building one right down the street from work, although the husband is afraid they will start to garnish my wages with it being so close. Christmas is coming *hint, hint.

I ordered their new Roasted Turkey Harvest Wheatberry Salad and LOVED IT! It contains fresh greens, romaine lettuce, roasted turkey, wheatberries and pistachios,  gorgonzola with maple-balsamic vinaigrette.

Now, first I have to say that I am NOT a fan of gorgonzola, similar to bleu cheese (which is only edible for me as a dip for a buffalo wing). I also do not care for maple in my dressing. Maple syrup on a pancake or french toast, I am totally fine with, though. Weird I know. So of course I asked for a plain balsamic vinaigrette and no gorgonzola (bluck).

I decided to make a similar salad at home for lunch this week.  I cooked up some wheatberries. If you haven’t had them they are pretty flavorless, but very good for you, as they are rich in vitamins B1 and B3, and the minerals magnesium, phosphorus, copper, manganese and selenium and are high in fiber and low on the Glycemic Index. I have been adding them to pretty much everything lately. They have a little crunch to them and add some different texture to your salads.

I made a few alterations, but it was as good, if not better than the PB version.

I used fresh greens, no romaine, Boar’s Head Oven Roasted Lower Sodium Turkey (sliced thick) and I didn’t feel like making my own balsamic vinaigrette (I know it’s simple and quick, don’t judge me), so I used my favorite bottled dressing, Simply Dressed Balsamic (you can find this in the refrigerated section of the produce department), omitted the pistachios (simply because I didn’t have any) and I tossed in a handful of dried cranberries and some sliced avocado.

I am in love! The sweetness of the dressing and the cranberries take this salad over the top! The avocado make it creamy and the crunch of the wheatberries give it great texture. If you are looking for something different for lunch, give this a try. You’ll love it! And if you like the taste of feet, feel free to add the gorgonzola.

4 c. fresh mixed salad greens
4 oz. Turkey breast (fresh or deli, I always use Boar’s Head thickly sliced)
2 Tbls. cooked wheatberries
1/4 c. dried cranberries or dried cherries
1/2 Haas avocado, chopped or sliced
2 Tbls. Simply Dressed Balsamic salad dressing (or you can make your own version, will post one soon)

Throw it all together and enjoy!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

