Weigh-In Wednesday and Black Bean Soup with Chorizo and Lime

Black Bean Soup with Chorizo and Lime

Black Bean Soup with Chorizo and Lime

First, a confession. The holidays kicked my butt. Too little sleep and too little exercise, plus too much to eat and drink equals 4 additional pounds, a sore back and a migraine. I was officially back in old patterns for reasons unknown. So to get myself going again, on January 2nd I signed up for another Diet Bet. Betting on myself seems to work well in motivating me to work hard. Monday I got back on the treadmill. My pace was slower, but it felt great. I increased my water intake and, not surprisingly my headache went away. I decided that Wednesday will be my weekly weigh in day and that I’d start sharing a healthy recipe that I’ve made for myself recently. So here it is. Since Day 1 I have lost 4.0 pounds! Yay Me!

I started receiving Cooking Light magazine (thank you school fund-raising) and am really enjoying reading the articles and the recipes. This recipe is one I took from the last issue. It is super quick, healthy and absolutely delicious. The lime juice is refreshing and really adds depth to this hearty soup and crushing the beans make it more like a stew. Using canned beans make it really quick, but feel free to use fresh if that’s your preference. Also, it tastes as good, if not better the next day, which made a great lunch. Try it. I promise you’ll love it.

    Black Bean Soup with Chorizo and Fresh Lime

3 oz. Spanish chorizo, quartered lengthwise and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 c. chopped onion
1 c. chopped red bell pepper
1 tsp dried oregano
2 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp ground cumin
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 c. unsalted chicken stock
2 (15-ounce) cans unsalted black beans, rinsed, drained, and coarsely mashed
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1/4 c. non-fat Greek style yogurt
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1. Heat a large saucepan over medium heat. Add 1 teaspoon oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add chorizo; cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove chorizo from pan (do not wipe pan). Add remaining 1 teaspoon oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion and bell pepper; cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in oregano and next 4 ingredients (through salt); cook 30 seconds. Stir in stock and beans. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer 3 minutes. Stir in cooked chorizo and juice. Ladle 1 1/4 cups soup into each of 4 bowls; top each serving with 1 tablespoon yogurt and 1 tablespoon cilantro.

Enjoy!

Slightly adapted from Cooking Light

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weigh-In Wednesday and Black Bean Soup with Chorizo and Lime

  1. Danielle says:

    Good for you for getting back on track in the new year, and thanks for posting this great recipe! Looks yummy and easy.

Say what?

