28 Days to a Healthy Heart: Day 6

Today is a NO SALT day! Good thing for me, I am not a big fan of salt. I rarely use it on my food. Gordon Ramsey would call me some sort of “muppet” and tell me to “season”. But I can go without or at the least very little. But sodium is hidden everywhere. Some of the biggest culprits are canned soups, canned tomatoes, baking soda, baking powder, deli meats, cheese, salad dressings, pickled foods, and of course processed snack foods.

The current percent daily value for sodium is 2400mg, however, the American Heart Association recommends that people with high blood pressure eat less that 1500mg per day, or less than 3/4 of a table spoon of salt. That really isn’t a whole lot, if you think about it.

Today I am making a point to log in my food journal. I love the food journal on at Myfitnesspal.com.It is easy and has pretty much every name brand and type of food available, which makes it really quick to log in your daily food intake. I have used this in the past, but then put it aside. Today I’m logging back in. I am curious as to how much sodium I’m actually getting. As I said, I typically don’t use a lot of salt. So, I am interested to see if whatever food choices I am making during the day are still too high. Anyone with me?

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Here are some articles for some tips on reducing your sodium intake.

How to Reduce Salt and Retain Flavor
High Sodium Foods and Ways to Reduce Sodium

And if you have a sweet tooth like me, I wanted to share this recipe for Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies and fantastic post from an amazing blogger. Dorothy at Crazy for Crust can relate first hand to women and heart disease. Go check her out.

And don’t forget, tomorrow is National Wear Red Day started by the American Heart Association to bring awareness of the severity of heart diesase in women. More often than not, a heart attack doesn't present itself like it does in the movies. You know the dramatic clutching of the chest, falling to the floor. Especially in women.
Some of the signs include:
■Shortness of breath with or without chest discomfort
■Back pain
■Jaw pain
■Nausea, breaking out in a cold sweat, or lightheadedness
■Pain or discomfort in one or both arms
■Uncomfortable pressure, squeezing, fullness or pain in the center of your chest that lasts more than a few minutes, or goes away and comes back.

Read more at http://www.crazyforcrust.com/2014/02/heart-healthier-chocolate-oatmeal-cookies/#tJpXfoVEH8i8Vs3Y.99

For a little comic relief on a serious subject, check out Just a little heart attack starring Elizabeth Banks. It just may save your life!

Have a healthy day!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

