28 Days to a Healthy Heart: Day 18 and 19

Day 18: Add a Stretch Break to your calendar
I stretch all the time. I sit at my desk and stretch, I do leg lifts while at the computer and if no one is watching I may do some high knees or touch my toes at the copier.

Today at home, I added some resistance bands. Here is a printable resistance band workout from Women’s Health magazine. Give it a shot!

Day 19: Swap the Sweets for a Piece of Fruit
I have a massive sweet tooth. Is there any other kind of tooth? Not over here! They are my downfall. If I have sweets in the house, I’m doomed. DOOMED I tell ya! Needless to say, since I do the grocery shopping, I have the power to keep the sweeties out.

The past couple of weeks, much to my daughter’s dismay (she also has “the tooth”) I have been buying a lot more fruit. I even made fruit cups for her Valentine’s Day class party. Which is probably the equivalent of passing out toothbrushes and floss for Halloween, mind you.

We are loving Fuji apples and mangoes right now. Well, I am the only one loving mangoes and since they are in season they are always on sale. SCORE! This is a perfect time of year to incorporate fruit into your diet. Processed sweets actually suppress the immune system, and with cold and flu season well underway the addition of fresh fruits and is even more important.

Besides mangoes, here are a few other fruits to enjoy this winter.

Clementines
Grapefruit
Kiwifruit
Mandarin Oranges
Papaya
Oranges
Passion Fruit
Pear
Persimmons
Tangerines

I have the kids pick colors at the beginning of the week and we get those fruits and veggies in their color choice. It seems to help by giving us for a variety and also allows us to try new things. Give it a try.

Have a healthy day!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

