Pi(e) Day Chocolate Cream Pie

chocolate creamHappy Pi(e) Day everyone.

I don’t make a lot of pie around here. I don’t know why. I mean come on, it’s pie. Delicious, pretty, sweet, delicious pie. Did I mention it’s delicious?

I’m not quite sure why I don’t make it more often, probably because I’d eat it until it was gone and my jeans would hate me for it.

I explained why it’s Pi Day (March 14 3.14) to the family and they didn’t really care, except for the fact that there would be pie. As my husband says “Nerdy and delicious”.

I’ve got to be honest, all the chocolate cream pies I’ve made in the past have been chocolate pudding in a graham cracker crust with some cool whip on top. Don’t judge me. I can be shoving pie in my face in 10 minutes flat. But for a little more effort this pie was much more satisfying. It is silky and dark and rich, but still lightened up a bit.

So, give your family a treat for Pi(e) day and treat them with a little slice of yumminess.

Check out my Pie board on Pinterest for some delicious pies.

Chocolate Cream Pie
40 graham crackers (10 full cracker sheets)
2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons butter or stick margarine, melted
1 large egg white
Cooking spray

Filling:
2 cups fat-free milk, divided
2/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
3 tablespoons cornstarch
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
2 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups frozen reduced-calorie whipped topping, thawed
3/4 teaspoon grated semisweet chocolate

Preheat oven to 350°.

To prepare crust, place crackers in a food processor; process until crumbly. Add 2 tablespoons sugar, butter, and egg white; pulse 6 times or just until moist. Press crumb mixture into a 9-inch pie plate coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 8 minutes; cool on a wire rack 15 minutes.

To prepare filling, combine 1/2 cup milk, 2/3 cup sugar, and next 4 ingredients (2/3 cup sugar through egg) in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk.

Heat 1 1/2 cups milk in a heavy saucepan over medium-high heat to 180° or until tiny bubbles form around edge (do not boil). Remove from heat. Gradually add hot milk to sugar mixture, stirring constantly with a whisk. Return milk mixture to pan. Add chopped chocolate; cook over medium heat until thick and bubbly (about 5 minutes), stirring constantly. Reduce heat to low; cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat; stir in vanilla. Pour into prepared crust; cover surface of filling with plastic wrap. Chill 3 hours or until cold. Remove plastic wrap; spread whipped topping evenly over filling. Sprinkle with grated chocolate.

Recipe from Cooking Light

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

