Honey Lime Dressing and my love of the Magic Kingdom

honeylime dressing

Every once in awhile I get a craving for Disney. Okay, who am I kidding, I am always thinking about Disney. If you read any of my “crap about me” lists, you’d know that I love Disney. Like, I want to live there. In Cinderella’s Castle spending my days twirling and singing with a bluebird on my finger and rockin a pair of ears, naturally. It really is the happiest place on earth. We have been there with the family a couple of times and I am ready to start planning another trip. It can be pricey, so a yearly trip is out of the question, but I am hopeful we will be able to visit again in 2015, which means it will be time for me to start planning real soon.

For me, the planning is half the fun. I spend months reviewing crowd calendars, planning our meals, snacks, shows, which rides are a must and which we can skip. I look at the best places to stay, what kind of amenities they have, how close are they to the park, what kind of activities they have. I make spreadsheets with our itinerary, reservation numbers and whatever else we need to know. It is a compulsion! If you have a Disney question, I’m your gal! But I’ve got to say, that kind of pre-trip organization made for some awesome vacations. Those people who say you can’t relax at Disney did not do their homework. Or they just try to do too much. I’ll post some Disney tips later.

Ok, that being said, I am in total need of a Disney fix. I think it’s all the ads for the new Seven Dwarfs Mine Train that is getting to me. Since I can’t get there now I have to do the next best thing, make a favorite Disney recipe.

Both our trips we have stayed at the Polynesian. I just love it there. It is probably the closest I will ever get to Hawaii. The grounds are gorgeous and the atmosphere is so relaxed and friendly. The Poly is also home to our favorite restaurant, Ohana. If you are planning a trip, I strongly suggest you make a reservation. The food is amazing! There is no menu. They serve the same thing every night and that was fine by us. They would bring out plates of sweet Hawaiian bread, stir fried broccoli, pan-fried potstickers, sesame garlic noodles and skewers of spicy shell-on shrimp, teriyaki beef and pork kabobs.

But I have to say my favorite part of the meal was the garden salad. Yes, a run of the mill garden salad. Romaine lettuce, julienned carrot and thinly sliced red onion. But it had the most amazing dressing on it. It was sweet, tangy, light and refreshing and complimented all the other components of the meal beautifully.

The fact that my husband actually ate salad was just a bonus.

So, when we got back I went on a search and found the recipe.

It goes great with this and some steamed rice. This is absolutely my favorite summer meal.

Every time I make this dressing, I get asked for the recipe. If I make it for a dinner party, I always make extra and send my guests home with a small jar of it. They love that.

Now, not that I’m bossy or anything, but you must go make this now. You can thank me later.

ALOHA!

Honey Lime Dressing
1/2 c. honey
1/4 c. diced onion (actually use a little less depending on how strong your onions are)
1/2 c. cider vinegar
1 tsp salt
1/4 c. freshly squeezed lime juice
1 c. canola oil
Dash of freshly ground pepper

Mix all ingredients, except for the oil in a blender (I use my immersion blender). Combine until smooth, then slowly add the oil until it is well incorporated.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from here

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking, scattered thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

