It’s In The Mix! Bob’s 10 Grain Bread Mix

Bob's 10 Grain Bread Mix

Bob’s 10 Grain Bread Mix

I’ve got a confession. Sometimes I use mixes. Yup. There I said it. I do. If a recipe has more than 5 or 6 ingredients to measure out, it usually ends up back in the recipe box. I hate measuring stuff. I really do. It annoys me.

I’ve got to tell ya, there are some pretty good mixes out there that can save a whole heap load of time and still make you look good. This new segment is designed to give you some reviews for some great mixes to have on hand when you’re in a time crunch. You know those times when your kids tell you there is a bake sale you are on the hook for TOMORROW. Or when your husbannd tells you there are guests coming…IN AN HOUR!
Or simply when the family wants a brownie NOW and you will get no peace until their mouths are full of brownie. Is that just my family that acts like that?

The first in this new blog series is my favorite. Not a cookie or a brownie, but a hearty bread mix. I’m not all about sugary desserts you know.

I am a yeast-o-phobe. It might be a word. Anything with yeast scares the bejeezus out of me. I rarely have good luck. I don’t why. But it has to be me. I am on a serious mission to conquer the yeast beast.

If you’re a yeast-o-phobe like myself, yet crave the smell of hearty bread baking in your own home oven, I suggest giving this mix a try. You can do it all by hand or use a bread machine. I do both depending on what kind of time I have. Typically though, I use the dough setting on my bread machine, then take it out, place it in a loaf pan, brush with melted butter and sprinkle with old fashioned oats, cover it and let it rise another hour, then bake it in the oven. I get the best results that way and honestly, I get a better rise and shape to the baked loaf.

I love Bob’s Red Mill products. I love everything about them. Their products and their philosophy. This bread is made of healthy whole grains, and has a perfect crumb. It is amazing as sandwich bread, simply toasted with some jam or a perfectly poached egg. It keeps well if well wrapped or can be frozen if you don’t plan on using it. It lasts me all week. And trust me, I make a loaf of this every Sunday and have a slice every morning with some peanut butter.

Look for it in your local grocery store or purchase it online at Bob’s Red Mill. It is a staple in my pantry. It will be in yours too. I promise.

Thanks Bob!

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

