White Chocolate Spritz Cookies

white chocolate spritz valentine cookies

So after being stuck in the house for days, thank you Juno. I was feeling a little blah. I started thinking about being isolated and lonely and thought, “I think I need to brighten someone’s day!”.

So, I made these cookies. Any recipe where I can shoot a cookie out of a gun is alright in my book. Just sayin.

I love Spritz cookies. They are just the right size for a small treat and are so cute. The cream cheese in the dough gave them a bit of tang which is balanced out beautifully by the sweetness of the white chocolate. They were decorated nicely by Nina who desperately needed to participate in something other than shoveling for awhile. You can customize the shape and color for any holiday or theme.

After they were decorated and set, I packaged them up all pretty, so as not to shove them in my face all day and today I put them in the mail.

I sent them to a couple of people I don’t get to see very often who may also be stuck at home and may need a little something to brighten their day.

After participating in the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap in December, I realized that getting cookies in the mail is pretty much one of the nicest surprises EVAH! So, I have decided to incorporate it into my routine. Whenever I make some cookies, I put aside a dozen and send it to someone I love.

Do you need some love? Let me know where you are (privately of course) and maybe you’ll find a sweet little package in your mailbox.

Oh yeah, here is the recipe for these little cuties. If you don’t have a cookie press, you can use a pastry bag and large star tip to make a rosette or any shape of your choice.

White Chocolate Spritz Cookies
8 oz. (1 cup) unsalted butter, softened at room temperature
3 oz. cream cheese, softened at room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg yolk
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
11-1/4 ounces (2-1/2 cups) all-purpose flour, sifted
1 egg white, lightly beaten (optional if using sprinkles or sugar instead of dipping in chocolate)
Colored sugars or other decorations for sprinkling (optional)
8 oz. white chocolate, melted

Heat the oven to 375°F. With a stand mixer (use the paddle attachment) or a hand mixer, beat the butter, cream cheese, and sugar in a large bowl on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes. Add the egg yolk and vanilla and beat again until blended. Add the flour and mix on low speed until blended.

Fit a cookie press with a die plate (I used the flower). Fill the barrel of the press with dough. You can create a “log” of dough and slide it into the barrel or just stuff it in (like I do). Press the cookies directly onto parchment or silpat lined baking sheets about 1 inch apart. Brush the tops with the beaten egg white and sprinkle with colored sugar if using. If dipping in chocolate do not brush with egg white.

Bake until the cookies are just golden around the edges, approximately 10 minutes (it’s best to bake one sheet at a time). Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet on a rack for 5 minutes before transferring them to a rack to cool completely. Be sure the baking sheet is cool before spritzing more cookies.

If dipping, melt chocolate in either a double boiler or simply microwave in 30 second increments, stirring after each, until melted. Be careful not to burn. Once melted, dip the top of the cookie and place on a cooling sheet and sprinkle with jimmies and sugar before chocolate sets.

You can also use different color melting wafers and milk and dark chocolate as well as white. Whatever floats your boat.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from here

About Cluttercafe

Wife to a great guy. Mom to two active, wonderful kids. Full time working woman trying to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

